Who’s in the News in Bettendorf, LeClaire and Pleasant Valley | News Bettendorf

Bettendorf Public Library receives $5,000 from grant program

The Bettendorf Public Library received a $5,000 grant from the Iowa State Library with funds received from the American Rescue Plan Act.

The grant was used to expand the library’s digital collection of books and audiobooks specifically designed to support psychology, professional development, personal finance, wellness and more. These electronic offers are accessible to holders of a library card at https://rivershare.overdrive.com/rivershare-bettendorf/content/collection/1263776 and align with the library’s vision of supporting the community’s pursuit of knowledge and information.

The Iowa State Library has awarded Iowa public libraries up to $5,000 from a portion of funding received through the American Rescue Plan Act. Grant funds can be used for equipment or technology to support digital inclusion efforts to enable libraries to reach residents, particularly to meet education, health and social needs. workforce development or to respond to the pandemic and implement public health protocols.

People also read…

The American Rescue Plan Act is a federal program that was approved by Congress and signed into law by President Biden in March 2021. The State Library received a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, which determined the priorities and rules governing how funds can be used in libraries.

BHS announces first semester winners

Bettendorf High School recently recognized sixteen students as Student Spotlight recipients.

Students are nominated by BHS faculty for outstanding achievement, improvement in a course, demonstration of character and/or leadership. Winners are also honored at a special recognition breakfast held twice a year.

* Arts: Emilie Chevalier, 12th; Malia Shinbori, 12th

* Business: Katie Le, 11th; Karli Soward, 10th

* Family and Consumer Sciences: Jason Haynes, 11th; Fall Skahill, 12th

* Language Arts: Isaiah Dunn, 10th

* Mathematics: Maxwell Rantille, 11th

* The music: Nathan Anderson, 11th

* Science: Olivia Hatfield, 11th; Charles Nomura, 10th

* Social Studies: Lilian Pierson, 10th; Ethan Weinberg, 11th

* Student Services: Jeremy Bowers, 12: Jenna Ripley, 12th grade

* Global language: Zakiya Bolar, 12th

Local resident wins awards for student radio station

Illinois State University student radio station WZND has won a total of 21 awards from the Illinois Broadcasters Association.

Joey Dwyer, Bettendorf, along with Leo Staudacher and Joe Kennedy won first place in Best Long Form Radio Entertainment Programming for the show “RedZone”.

Dwyer also won first place in the Best Radio Aircheck category and second place in Best Radio/TV Live Game Sports Broadcast for his work on the men’s basketball play by play for the ISU vs. Drake game.

PV Schools Honor Student Artists

The Pleasant Valley Community School District recently honored a record 138 student artists at the annual PTA Reflections Awards. The PTA Reflections program aims to encourage participation in the arts and recognize student achievement.

Students submit artwork in the following categories: dance choreography, film production, literature, music composition, photography and visual arts. Entries are judged by local artists, with the best submissions advancing to the state competition.

Chancellor’s list

University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Bettendorf: Macey McKinnon

President’s list

Clinton Community College

Des Moines Area Community College

Bettendorf: Jenna Marxen, Katie Yost

Bettendorf: Halle Fish, Grace Pender

Bettendorf: Kaitlyn Anderson, Megan Anderson, Macy Beinborn, Carter Duwa, Cedric Fierce, Mary Therese Gehrmann, Jakob McGraw, Abigail McKay, Shubhi Sharma, Rachel Witt

LeClaire: Laurin Baker, Keegan Glaus

Bettendorf: Claire Fields, Havyn Fish, Alysa Goethe, Peyton Haas, Erica Johnson, Alexia Lara, Sam Rothbardt, Mike Straub

University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Bettendorf: Robert Border, Claudia Johnson, Macey McKinnon, Justin Schwallie, Lita Solbrig


University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Bettendorf: Lita Solbrig

Comments are closed.